Love to Sing

Home > Member Resources > International Board

International Board of Directors

The International Board of Directors functions as the governing and decision-making body of the organization. The Board elects the officers of the corporation. The International Board of Directors has authority to do all things necessary to fulfill the purpose of the organization, including strategic planning, the levying of fees and the execution of contracts. Board members work with the international headquarters staff to monitor and administer the organization’s programs.

The election to select members to serve on the International Board of Directors concluded Wednesday, December 3, 2014, and following the election, the International Board of Directors appointed two additional members to the International Board of Directors. The following members will begin their term on May 1, 2015, and will serve along with the current members of the Board:

Joan Boutilier, River City Sound Chorus #3 – serving a three-year elected term May 1, 2015, to April 30, 2018

Marcia Pinvidic, City of Gardens Chorus #26 – serving a three-year elected term May 1, 2015, to April 30, 2018

Thérèse Antonini, North Metro Chorus #16 – serving a one-year appointed term May 1, 2015, to April 30, 2016

Jeanne d’Arc (JD) Crowe, Canadian Showtime Chorus #16 – serving a one-year appointed term May 1, 2015, to April 30, 2016

The Corporate Services department serves as the official staff liaisons to the International Board. If you would like to send a message to the International President or a member of the International Board, contact this department.

Although we just finished counting the votes in December 2014 for the new members of the International Board of Directors, since this is an ongoing process, it is now time to start thinking about choosing potential nominees who, if nominated and elected, will serve the 2016-2019 term.

This is your chapter's opportunity to participate in the selection of potential nominees for the International Board of Directors. It’s time to look at the leaders in your chorus, your region, and the Sweet Adelines world with an eye toward their potential as members of the International Board. Your chapter board of directors or management team may recommend potential nominees to the chapter; however, the actual selections should be made by vote of the chapter membership.

When your chapter has selected potential nominees who have all, or most of the qualifications listed below, the International Board of Directors 2015 Potential Nominee Application is to be completed by each potential nominee. The Good Standing Statement portion of the application should be completed and signed by two Chapter Officers and mailed or emailed to the Corporate Secretary at International Headquarters.

The IDEAL potential nominee should work well on her own and as a team member to define and pursue goals, and to carry out the aims of the International Organization. Her qualifications should also include the following:

  • Positive, objective attitude
  • Good listening skills
  • Critical and analytical thinking as well as imaginative and creative thinking
  • Effective verbal and written communications skills
  • Knowledge of and ability to use available resources
  • Computer skills, with ability to communicate electronically
  • Ability to adapt easily to different environments
  • Ability to relate to a variety of personality types
  • Training and experience in a field which could be of value to the International Board
  • Experience in Sweet Adelines International as a chapter, regional or International officer, committee chair or committee member
  • Thorough understanding of the mission and goals of Sweet Adelines International
  • Professional appearance and dress

The Corporate Bylaws provide for a three-year term of office for members of the International Board of Directors. In 2015, eight nominees will be chosen and four directors will be elected (every third year, four nominees are chosen and two directors are elected). During its 2015 meeting, the Nominating Committee will carefully consider all the nominee applications received from the chapters and from members of the committee. After all potential nominees’ qualifications have been discussed the Nominating Committee will select eight nominees by secret ballot.

Information on these nominees will be provided in The Pitch Pipe and online so that you have a chance to familiarize yourself with the candidates. Ballots containing the names of the eight nominees will be sent to the chapters in October 2015. Chapters are requested to schedule their election meetings for International Board Members in October or November 2015, so that the official ballots may be cast by the first Wednesday in December.

Remember that you play a vital role in the selection of this most important group! DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF POTENTIAL NOMINEE APPLICATIONS AT INTERNATIONAL HEADQUARTERS IS MAY 7, 2015.

Please click on the following link to access the 2015 International Board of Directors Potential Nominee Application information.


Download the 2015-2016 International Committee List here.


2015-2016 International Board

Seated (l to r): Joan Boutilier, Paula Davis, Marcia Pinvidic, Renée Porzel and Patty Cobb Baker

Standing (l to r): Jeanne d'Arc (JD) Crowe, Thérèse Antonini, Cammi MacKinlay, Carole Persinger, Anne Cargill and Dale Syverson. Not pictured: Peggy Gram.

2015-2016 Executive Committee

(l to r; top to bottom) Joan Boutilier, Secretary; Paula Davis, President-Elect; Patty Cobb Baker, Treasurer; Renée Porzel, Immediate Past President; and Marcia Pinvidic, President

Copyright �2011 Sweet Adelines, Inc. All rights reserved.